People Think You’re Fancy

O.K. So they don’t, but you can change all that.
Now, If you know me, you know I have never been a fan of the whole sweet+meat idea. I don’t like pancake syrup getting on my sausage nor do I like brown sugar on my meatloaf. This recipe however, is an exception. You can also use this for pork tenderloin but it is typically too small for the stuffing.

Apricot Stuffed Pork Roast

You will need:

  • 2 lbs boneless pork roast (typically already wrapped in baking elastic/twine)
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots, diced
  • 2 Tbs apricot jam
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 Tbs olive oil

Preheat oven to 450°. In a bowl, combine jam, shallots, apricots and about 1 tsp salt and 2 tsp pepper and mix together. Cut a slit in the middle of your roast to create a pocket. Do not cut all the way through the opposite end.

Here’s another great use for your decorator’s icing bag! Fill bag with jam mix and squeeze mix down into pocket. Push it down so it’s really packed. (Until I realized I could use the bag, I used my hands. Messy but no biggie.)
It will spread as it cooks so do not fill all the way. You want to leave a little room at the end.

Heat oil in skillet on medium high. Sear roast all the way around. (Searing helps this retain it’s juices and makes it pretty.)

I recommend lining your cookie sheet or loaf pan with foil as the sugar in the stuffing can burn onto your pan and essentially ruin it. Bake until internal temperature is 145°. Avoid hitting the stuffing when using your meat thermometer as the stuffing will be hotter than the meat. Make sure you are temping the meat. Yeah, yeah, I know your thermometer says like, 180 crazy degrees for pork or something but this is a “Cover Your Ass” kind of thing for the thermometer company. Please, just trust me. If you cook this roast over 160°, I promise it will be so dry, your dog won’t want it.
145° is perfectly high enough to kill anything that may make you sick without destroying the integrity of the meat. If it scares you, go ahead and try it at 160°. It will still be edible but you’ll see that it could stand to be cooked a bit less.

January 19, 2010. Tags: , , , . Cooking tips.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

