Cutting Corners

In 59 days I will marry my best friend. When I first heard it takes about a year to plan a wedding I didn’t believe it. I’m here to tell you now, believe it my friends. If you wants bells and whistles, give yourself at least a year. We started planning December 19th (of 2008!) and I am really relieved we gave ourselves that much time.
My fiancé and I were in agreement that hiring a calligrapher for our wedding invitations was not in our budget so I figured out a way around it. You could do this for anything that you may want to dress up. You won’t get all the extra flourishes but if you’re looking for something simple but elegant, this may work for you.
I used “Pages” but you can probably use just about any word processing program. I set it up for the correct size envelopes and typed each guest’s name on a separate page. Then I decreased the opacity to very light gray.

Now, I will also tell you, I did run into some problems because our printer isn’t incredible but it was no biggie. I just had to feed each envelope one at a time. We have a lot of silver and gray so we decided to go with something a little different. I bought some great silver paint pens and just wrote over the printing.

I really like the way they turned out because the silver is mostly subtle and gray but then shiny at just the right angle and it doesn’t look like it was just printed from a computer!

We also wanted to dress up our invitations a little bit and it was easy and SO much cheaper than ordering the fancier ones.
I bought a pack of vellum sheets which seem a little pricey for paper ($10) but we were able to get 2 from each sheet. I cut them down the center (which happened to be the exact size of our invites) and cut the bottom edge with decorative scissors. Then I just folded the top about 1/2″ over the invitation.

♥Voila!♥

February 3, 2010. Tags: , , , . Art and Neat stuff.

3 Comments

  1. Lisa replied:

    How clever you are! They turned out so pretty! And congratulations, it’s been a long time for me, but I remember all the planning and excitement. 🙂

  2. modernmaam replied:

    Oh thanks! Yes, it is super exciting but I’ll also be a little happy when it’s over.

  3. erika jeanne replied:

    they came out absolutely beautiful by the way. stowed right away into the treasure box xoxox

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

