Tip O’ the Week

*Tips that are NEAT-tO know!*

PERFECT
cookies
EVERY
time.*

*Please see disclaimer.

This trick awesome to know, but it is even MORE awesome to know why it works…
then again, I am kind of food science nerd.

I have had customers ask me time and time again how my cookies stay so soft for so long. This is how I do it.

For soft, chewy cookies: When cookies are done, hold your cookie sheet about 1-2 feet from the counter top, very flat. Drop the cookie sheet to get a good, loud THWACK! Immediately remove cookies and let them cool on foil or parchment paper. I am serious! Drop it! Nice and flat. If you don’t hear a loud smack, you didn’t drop it flat enough. Try once more.

Why this works: You will notice your cookies sink after smacking them. You are knocking all the hot air that is trapped inside the dough, out of the cookie. This means they are no longer cooking on the inside. (Just because you take them out of the oven, does not mean they have stopped cooking.) The pan is also still cooking them slowly so by removing them, you are stopping the process almost immediately. These will stay soft for a week, sometimes longer!

For crunchy cookies: This is perfect for crunchy sugars, gingersnaps and so on. Just do the opposite as above. You want them to continue to cook slowly so they get crisp all the way through. When the cookies are done, remove them from the oven and gently set the pan down. Allow the cookies to cool ON the pan.

Once you know WHY this works, it makes perfect sense!

* This has never failed me…unless, of course, I over bake the cookies in the first place. This won’t save you then.

March 14, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , . Cooking tips, Tip O' the Week.

3 Comments

  1. Lisa replied:

    I’ll be thwacking my cookies next time. 😉

    Had to come back to say that I tried your onion rings Saturday night, perfect! Hubby says I can definitely fix them again, thanks!

  2. Giggly Mama replied:

    I loooove soft cookies…I’m gonna try that next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

