It’s Official!

My fiance has accepted a tenure track offer AT….

*drumroll please!*

University of Wisconsin in Madison!

We officially know nothing about Madison so if you know anyone or anything, pass it on! ANYTHING is helpful! People, places, blogs…anything!  I am really excited! It looks beautiful, it’s really safe, and there’s plenty a reason to knit! There’s fishing (which I LOVE!) and lots of water (which I also LOVE)!

I am excited to be starting this new chapter in our lives. I feel like we are going to be really happy there even though I NEVER would have thought that is where I’d end up. I DO miss Texas. I miss everything about Austin. The people, the attitude, the art, music, and all around goodness that people have in their hearts there, cut off blue jean shorts, bare feet and mexican food. I REALLY miss the heat and the sun and the swimming but I am growing to enjoy the change of the seasons. I find snow quite beautiful and I suppose you can’t have both heat and snow at the same time so I am just happy I am getting to experience it all. Madison’s summer is supposed to be beautiful. It’s very hard for me to comprehend, after 26 years in Texas, that the winter can be below freezing and you can still have temperatures in the 80s in the summer. I’m looking forward to it.

So after my break you can look forward to the following things:

How to be a master packer!

Master the Egg video tutorials
(I will teach you how to cook the perfect egg 8 different ways and the differences between them. You can please EVERYBODY! I will also teach you how to flip like a pro. You won’t believe how easy it is!)

Demystifying the fitted sheet

Fascinators tutorial

Baked Pear and Jam Summer Pastry

Spanish Encrusted Pork Tenderloin Medallions
with fresh verde sauce and pico de gallo

My Best Mexican Black Beans

Migas (Yes. Real ones. Remember folks, I have cooked them in 5 of Austin’s most prized places.)

wedding stories and photos and more!!!

See you soon!

March 22, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , . Me and Mine.

5 Comments

  1. Richard Kent replied:

    *high five*

  2. Lisa replied:

    Congrats to him! When you get there and things settle down, you MUST take a day trip and go see The House On the Rock http://www.thehouseontherock.com/. Weirdest museum (I don’t even know if that’s what they call it), it’s just weird, but in a good way! Wisconsin is a beautiful state, we’ve been lost there several times. 😉

  3. bookwormbethie replied:

    thanks for the comment! I do know that one of my flickr friends lives in WI, not sure if it’s Madison, but she does have a blog.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/weepereas/

    I actually have a huge crush on the entire state of Wisconsin, I follow their football teams, swoon when Brett Favre does his Wrangler Jeans coupons, envy their snow, and long very very much to wear a cheese hat!

    • modernmaam replied:

      ROFL! Oh Bethie! You are cracking me up! Thanks for the links ladies!
      Lisa: That house is CRAZY! I can’t wait to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

