Part One-Pork Tenderloin Medallions

This is one of my favorite meals and I realized I have promised to post it 2 different times so I suppose I must finally follow through. I saw the original recipe in Southern Living magazine but ended up just using the idea instead of the recipe. It is such a wonderful eating experience as you get crunchy with tender, hot with cold, salty and sour with fresh. It’s incredibly satisfying!

Also, (now, don’t quote me on this because as you may know, I am certainly no expert on the subject, BUT…) I think it may even be a bit healthy. I believe I have been procrastinating it as I feel I will need to do it in 3 parts because it is a meal and not just a recipe. That DOES NOT mean it is difficult or involves any complex ingredients.  I’m looking forward to you thanking me so give it a shot once all three parts are posted!
So, here it goes.

For the pork medallions
you will need:

2 lbs pork tenderloin
1/4 cup olive oil plus another 1/4 cup
1 1/2 cups salted tortilla chips, crushed finely
1/2 cup “food should taste good” jalapeno chips, crushed finely

(I keep an old chip bag around and I crush all my chips in that. I put a handful in the crushing bag and use a rolling pin to crush.)

1 1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp black pepper

Put 1/4 cup olive oil in a shallow container. Slice tenderloin into 1/2 to 3/4 inch medallions and lay them in the oil. Add all spices to chips and mix well. Coat both sides of each medallion in olive oil and then in chips. Divide remaining 1/4 cup olive oil in half and heat one half (1/8) on medium high in large skillet. Cook medallions 5 minutes on each side. However, BEFORE flipping to second side at 6 minutes, add remaining olive oil. Serve with pico de gallo, verde, and beans. (All to follow.)

April 19, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . Recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

