Cuckoo for Colors

I swear I am doing things.  A lot of things. I actually have quite a few posts ready to be written but for some reason (I’m a perfectionist.) it takes me forever to actually write each one.

But for now, I want to talk about color.  I’m finding it interesting to notice how my own tastes change with age. Sometimes drastically. One major change is color.
I am appreciating colors more and more and I believe it all started with knitting. Before I began knitting, if I saw all of these colors together, for some reason I would instantly think of those raver kids with their plastic necklaces and cut up clothes or Rainbow Brite. But now, all I think is “happy!” I started knitting and colors began to come together very differently. Standing in my local yarn store, I would stare up at the cubes and I saw not only color but texture, contrast, and compatibility.

I also have a theory. I think colors and how people use them may have something to do with location and weather and seasons. Here me out. Austin is hot. Hot and dry. All the time almost. You get sweaty and dirty really easily. Hardy ever did I see people sporting multi colored sneakers or bright yellow skirts. Lots of neutrals, which makes sense when the sun is beating down on you and you’re sweating all over everything.  Also, spring isn’t the same in Austin as it is in New England. There aren’t bulbs of all sorts and all colors of the rainbow blooming everywhere. There aren’t trees any color other than green there. The grass is green for a couple of weeks and then it’s dead again.

In New England, I see color. LOTS of color. If you live in a place that actually has 4 seasons, you may find yourself missing the very colorful one so what do you do? You emulate it. You reproduce it in the dead of winter when there is no color to be found anywhere. When you’re surrounded by a complete absence of it, you produce an abundance to remind yourself of what has been as what will once come again.

Now, when I see the color yellow, this is my thought process:

yellow=daffodil and sun=pretty, colors, spring, flowers, dresses and warm=happy!

Before moving to New England, I never understood the fall color palette. Can you believe I was 28 years old before I saw, with my very own eyes, rust, yellows, oranges, and reds all together at once within the trees?

I’m so excited to be on the color side of things. So I totally get it now.
Although I still hate “coral”/”salmon”.

April 30, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Art and Neat stuff, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

