Raving and Raveling

I am getting really excited about the move and I am SUPER excited about having more time to knit as I have been feeling like I must take care of my responsibilities in other areas…much less fun areas. Here’s what I am really looking forward to filling my time with!

Coraline by Ysolda Teague

Even though this is a Lion Brand pattern, I do really love their organic cotton line which is the recommended yarn for this project so I bet it'd be really nice.

I don't think this is normally something I would like but there's something about it that caught my eye.

Bunny Hop Thrummed Bunny Slippers by Nikol Lohr

I would be afraid of taking these on except a fellow knitter, Chelsea, made a pair for our friend, Islay, and they were so adorable, cushy, soft, fluffy and warm. Really, they were simply amazing. I’ve never done this thrumming before, but it seems like the perfect thing to shove your feet into.
I mean, just look at these things!

Beautiful job Chelsea!

Yes, yes, I’m going to make things for the husband too!

Cobblestone Pullover by Jared Flood

And lots and lots and more socks!

I have plenty more in my queue but it may give away a possible surprise. This means, if you have a Ravelry account, you an go spy on my queue and see if you can’t figure it out. Just don’t guess out loud!
I can’t believe I just taught myself to knit in December by watching a few videos and practicing. Yes! Really! Are you convinced you can do anything yet? Get to it!

June 4, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , . Knitting.

4 Comments

  1. ktrumeter replied:

    I loooooove Coraline.

    Also, make me some leg warmers!

  2. bookwormbethie replied:

    I had a brief fling with knitting a few years ago. I too taught myself to knit and purl from watching some free online videos. The most frustrating part was I never knew how to fix my mistakes so knitting was way to stressful for me since I had to pay 150% attention to what I was doing so I wouldn’t make a mistake.

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      I completely understand that. That was also, the absolute most difficult part for me. It has really taken me really understanding knitting more thoroughly to learn how to fix mistakes. I think it is also very helpful and important to have people available. Ravelry definitely saved my sanity on numerous occasions. You really wouldn’t believe how much people want to help there! You should consider giving it another go and keep in mind that if you screw up, all you have to do is go on Ravelry, post your mistake/question and numerous people will jump at the chance to help you understand! I LOVE it there!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

