Summertime Golden

No. Not everyone knows how to cut a pineapple. In fact, I didn’t until I was about 20 or so. And now I can honestly say I have cut over 300 pineapples.

So I’m going to start a new “section”:

Things you need to know but are too embarrassed to ask


I wish I had something similar years ago when I didn’t know how to cook a turkey or cut an artichoke or boil water.  Luckily, I don’t believe in being too embarrassed to ask anymore. And I don’t believe you should live without fresh pineapple because you haven’t learned to cut one yet.

Twist the head and the body in opposite directions. If it is not ripe, you can also hold the body firmly with both hands and hit the top of the head against a counter and it will pop off.

Slice off each end as close to the end as possible. We are trying to get the most fruit out of this.

Stand the pineapple up and slice off the skin one side at a time. Go all the way around. It's o.k. if you leave some spots. It's better to use a little knife on those so you don't keep loosing fruit. You can see how little fruit there is on the skin over there? Yeah, that's good.

Remove the core by cutting around it. Slice just off the center. If it feels hard, you're at the core so scooch outward.

Remove the last bit from the core. Then give it to some lucky champ to gnaw on.

Now take each section and slice in a grid for bite size chunks.

Yuh’ welcome!

July 22, 2010. Tags: . Cooking tips, Too Embarassed to Ask.

4 Comments

  1. giddy replied:

    I had to stumble through my first pineapple cutting this past weekend – all alone! I would have waited for your post, it only I’d known. 🙂

    The only reason I had a fresh one is because I just learned how to tell if a pineapple is ripe or not (the plucking of the inner leaf-thingie). You should add that – I avoided fresh pineapples for years because I couldn’t tell when they were ripe. THEY ARE SO AWESOME FRESH.

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      OOOH! That IS an EXCELLENT idea! Especially since you don’t ever want to go by that again. 🙂 You may have gotten lucky but unfortunately the leaf thingie is kind of an old wive’s tale. I will explain. Thanks so much for your input!

  2. giddy replied:

    Good to know, and YES, I must have gotten lucky! 🙂

    Are you going to tell us how to cut an artichoke, too? Because I have NO idea about that one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

