Marry Me (Martha)! Cookies

I was lucky enough to be handed the secret recipe behind the soft and delicious Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I so loved as a child. My Nana used to make these for me and she got the recipe from her sister, Martha. My (great) Aunt Martha.

I made a few adjustments and began to make them at a diner I worked at and within a week, received 3 marriage proposals!
Seriously. O.K. So it turns out they weren’t very serious about getting married but they were serious about loving those cookies so I renamed them Marry Me (Martha) cookies!

I also made some of these for a family of friends that were all the way across the country and hear they traveled real well.

You will need:

1/2 cup butter softened
1/2 cup shortening
1 C white sugar
1 C light brown sugar
2 eggs
2 C flour (all purpose)
2 C oatmeal (not instant!)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp molasses
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp allspice
1 tsp cinnamon
1 C raisins

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Put flour, oatmeal, soda, salt, and spices together in a large bowl and stir well. Set aside.

Cream together the butter, shortening the two sugars, molasses and vanilla mixing well.  Stir in eggs.
Add in the dry ingredients 1 cup at a time, mixing in well.  Add raisins last and stir in well.  With a large spoon, scoop out cookie dough and light flatten the center with a fork.
Bake about 10 to 14 minutes.  Transfer cookies to brown paper to cool.  A large brown grocery sack cut open and spread on your counter top or table is ideal for absorbing some of the oil and cooling the cookies.  Store in covered container.

August 22, 2010. Tags: , , , . Recipes.

3 Comments

  1. giddy replied:

    I’m drooling.

  2. bookwormbethie replied:

    oh i’m drooling too! definitely bookmarking this page so i can make them when it cools off down here, we rarely ever use our oven in the summer.

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      OOh don’t I know it. I try to avoid the oven as well. These are really great fall cookies as the spices all kind of scream fall to me.
      I’m about to post a couple summer friendly desserts that have been blowing my mind.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

