The Almighty Yogurt Cake

I am very excited about this next entry as I have finally nailed down this recipe AND this will be the first recipe with the new printable version of the recipe below it! Yay!

So for the past 6 months or so, I have been trying different yogurt cake recipes. I found myself pretty disappointed in many for different reasons. The first, from a very popular cooking blog, was way to dense for my taste. The second, from a french cookbook, too greasy. The third, too crumbly. I ate my way through each of them with a furrowed brow and decided to stop trying these recipes as a whole. I began to take bits and pieces from many and make adjustments according to my picky little taste buds and my taste buds have declared:

We finally have a winner.

This yogurt cake is everything I want in a yogurt cake. It is tangy, very moist but not oily or wet, dense yet airy but still not as light as regular cake, sweet, but not too sweet. The greatest thing about yogurt cake is it is sort of a base like a muffin recipe. It is amazing as is or with all different combinations of fruits and juices your heart desires. This recipe incorporates the flavors I was obsessing over after feeling very inspired by my honeymoon. It calls for coconut oil. If you have never used coconut oil before, you may be pleasantly surprised. I use coconut oil for my cast iron skillets as it does not go rancid. It is also very good for your skin as well as your health. It is slightly pricey but a little goes a long way and I have decided I really like to have it around the house for all these things. I recommend giving it a try.

The other wonderful thing about yogurt cake…?

You can eat it for breakfast.
What other cake can you actually eat for breakfast without feeling like you need to hide in a dark corner so no one calls you fatty fat fatso
? None that I know of.

It is wonderful in the morning with coffee and a little fresh fruit OR as a dessert with a little whipped cream and a compote. The only thing about yogurt cake is it should NOT be eaten hot or warm and it is best the next morning. After it has cooled, store wrapped in plastic wrap.

One last note about this recipe; If you make this, I believe you will realize after the first slice, you should have doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves. Consider yourself warned.

So without further ado:

Lime in the Coconut Yogurt Cake with Mango Compote

(skill level:pretty dang easy)

You will need:
1 cup whole milk unsweetened yogurt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup coconut oil plus 2 Tbs for pan prep
zest of one lime
1/4 cup lime juice
1 Tbs light Rum (this recipe works completely fine if this is omitted)
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup flour plus some for dusting
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp almond extract

Preheat to 350. Grease and flour an 8”x4” ish (regular size) loaf pan. In medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside.
In one large bowl, mix sugar, almond extract, rum and oils. Add juices, and zest and mix well. Whisk in yogurt.

Next, whisk in one egg at a time. Stir in flour mixture until just incorporated.

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 35-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for 15 minutes then remove from pan and allow to cool further on cooling rack.
I really like this just plain for breakfast or with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and a couple blueberries. For a more dressed up version for tea or after dinner, add the mango compote.

♥♥♥

For mango compote:

(skill level: it only SOUNDS fancy)

4 large, ripe mangos
1/2 tsp lemon juice
1/4 cup water
1/4 sugar
1/2 vanilla bean
Skin and cut mangos into chunks. Slice vanilla bean down the center and gently pry open. In a medium saucepan, combine half the mango chunks and all other ingredients. Cook over low heat about 8 minutes or until mangos begin to fall apart. Put a lid on and let sit for 10 minutes. Remove lid and vanilla bean. Scrape vanilla seeds into mixture. Stir in the other half of the mango chunks. This is good served warm or cold!

Print honeymoon yogurt cake

August 27, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . Recipes.

3 Comments

  1. giddy replied:

    That sounds divine! I love just about anything Lime, and Lime with Mango. Can’t wait to try this; thanks!

  2. Islay replied:

    Yumbo! This looks amazing… AND i’m super excited to be able to print out the recipe all on it’s own! GOOD WORK!

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      Thanks! I was actually going to send you this one b/c I thought you’d really like this in particular. I KNOW you will, actually.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

