Tip O’ the Week

*Tips that are NEAT-tO know!*

Keep the crunch in your lettuce!

Prep your lettuce for maximum longevity in the fridge. First, rinse and dry your lettuce. For your Romaine, you can leave the core on and the bunches in tact if small. For Iceberg, cut off the end and separate the leaves into handful size bunches. Next, tear off two paper towels for each bunch. Get them thoroughly wet with cold water and gently wring them out.

Roll each bunch in the paper towels. Stack them in a freezer sized Ziplock bag. Close the “zipper” almost all the way, leaving about an inch open. Suck the air out through the hole and close it. (I like to do this b/c squeezing the air out can bruise your lettuce.) Ta-dah! Your lettuce will stay fresh for weeks!

August 29, 2010. Tags: , , , . Tip O' the Week.

6 Comments

  1. funksteena replied:

    Is there any way to save the fragile and frustrating purple stuff in the spring mix my husband insists we get year round?

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      I’m thinking you may be referring to the baby red oakleaf lettuce as it is the more frail of the red/purple. I keep my spring mix two different ways depending on how much room I have in my fridge (it is frustratingly small). One, I store it in an air tight container. I put a dry paper towel in the bottom of the container. This prevents pieces from sticking to the bottom of the container. When a leaf sticks to the container, it traps water in between and prevents air flow which ultimately leads to it’s often premature demise. I’ll put some mix on top and then put in another towel. The paper towels are multitasking. They absorb moisture that can lead to mold but they keep the air moist so your greens don’t wilt. I also try to lightly shake the container if I am not using them for 2 or more days to insure the same leaves aren’t always under the others.
      The second thing I do is if I get the kind in a bag, I keep it in the bag. Many companies are using a particular mix of plastic specifically made to help keep the greens fresh longer. Once you open it, just make sure you fold the open end down tightly and close it with clothespins. I hope that helps!

  2. funksteena replied:

    Yes! The baby read oakleaf is the culprit alright. Also I saw this method http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/tips-techniques/longlasting-greens-how-to-keep-salad-greens-fresh-126732 over at Apt. Therapy the other day. I don’t know if I trust any of my bath towels unless they’re brand new and have never been used by a boy person in my house. So I might just stick to the paper towels for sanitary reasons, even though I’m technically averse to using them for anything other than absolutely necessary tasks. Which this totally is.

  3. funksteena replied:

    P.S. THANKS!!

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      🙂 Great! I’m also very unsure if I would want to use one of my towels…and who has room for that anyway? My fridge is already a nightmare.

  4. Modern Ma'am replied:

    Also, You can very easily reuse these paper towels as they only have a bit of water on them and they will dry very quickly!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

