Crab Cakes with Spicy Remoulade

So in my opinion, there are 2 great ways to make crab cakes, although I could imagine myself saying, there is no wrong way to eat crab as I have an intense love for it.
Seriously, I could eat anything with crab…except soft shell when it has the eyeballs still in it…then I have to ask RPK very nicely if he will please remove the eyes for me so I can enjoy my beautiful soft shell crab sandwich and then he smiles and I have to look away and grimace and stick out my tongue while he plucks or cuts out or whatever he does with the eyes so I’m a happy lady again.

Anywhoo

First best way: below and pan fry.
Second best way: crab meat, bread crumbs, sauce, then bake.
Personally, I love both but this is how I make them most often because I particularly love the addition of the crispy outside with all the softness of the inner cake.

for Crab Cakes (makes 8-10)
adapted from many different sources
skill level: silly easy, really.

You will need:
16 oz crab meat (claw or lump, your preference)
1/2 cup diced chives
1 tsp Worcestershire
2 Tbsp mayonnaise (not Miracle Whip)
2 medium eggs, beaten
1 tsp spicy mustard
1 1/2 tsp Cajun seasoning (my favorite is Tony Chachere’s but any Cajun mix will do)
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 to 3/4 cup bread crumbs

In small bowl, beat eggs. Add all other ingredients minus crab and bread crumbs. Mix together well. Put crab in medium bowl. Add egg mixture and mix in well. Fold in bread crumbs. I fold in 1/2 of a cup (which is usually plenty) and feel the texture. If it seems to wet (if my eggs are too big) I add a bit more but remember, this is a crab cake, not a bread cake. You don’t want it so full of bread crumbs that all your egg gets soaked up. When you form it into a patty, you should get plenty of egg on your hands.

Form into patties no more than 1/2 inch thick. Heat 1 -2 Tbsp olive oil in skillet on medium. Cook patties 3-6 minutes or until thoroughly browned. Flip and add 1 more Tbsp olive oil. Cook 3-6 more minutes. Top with remoulade (below).

 

Print Crabcakes recipe

In my opinion, crab cakes are not crab cakes without an incredible sauce.
Here is your incredible sauce.
Do this 20 minutes ahead.

For Spicy Remoulade
adapted from many different sources
skill level:it only SOUNDS fancy
this recipe calls for diced items to be diced small

you will need:
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 red onion, diced, divided in half
1/4 cup chives, diced, divided in half
1 cup mayo
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp Tabasco
1/4 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp black pepper

In food processor, combine half of the bell pepper, all garlic, half of the chives, all mayo, and lemon juice. Process until smooth. Transfer to bowl and stir in all remaining ingredients. Refrigerate 20 minutes before serving.

Print recipe for Spicy Remoulade

September 22, 2010. Tags: , , . Recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Martha Ginn replied:

    I love all crab dishes, but my most very favorite is Fried Soft Shell Crab! It isn’t available all the time, so whenever the server mentions it in the specials, I stop right there and say “yes, yes, yes–soft shell crab!”

    Aunt Msrtha

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      ooh! I actually have never had fried soft shell but it sounds amazing! I’m going to start looking out for it. And that makes me think you may really love Del Mar Tacos. They have crab and shrimp and are soooo yummy. I’ll have to post those sometime soon!

  2. barncat1 replied:

    I’ve never made crab cakes, but I’m willing to give it a try, I like the silly easy part. 😉

  3. Lauren replied:

    January 12, 2011 – Made BOTH these recipes over the weekend — very good! The crabcakes finally came out in one solid, crispy cake, as opposed to falling apart in the oil. That was always a problem for me! I think the trick is having enough egg in the mixture (wet) and using only a little olive oil (1-2 tbsp) to pan fry. Will definitely make these again! For the remoulade, I accidently put some red onions in the food processor in the first step. It came out good but too onion-y for my taste. Will leave out next time, or add at the end (I don’t like raw onions). Otherwise, both recipes were delicious and well constructed. Thank you!

    • Modern Ma'am replied:

      Lauren,
      So happy these worked for you and thanks so much for your feedback!! It’s incredibly helpful to me to know how my recipes read and work out for others. I’ll be honest, since I do a lot from my head, I can forget things. 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

