Needles and Threads

Recently I have been battling the two projects I have and have had on my needles for some time now. A nice sweater for RPK to celebrate his new job and first fall and winter here in Madison and a pair of socks for him. The sweater is being done in a sport weight which has planted the mental note in my brain to never, ever knit a large sweater in a sport weight ever again and the socks are my first toe-up socks. They feel fantastic but I’m having a LOT of problems with Wendy Johnson’s book and having to find my answers and tips elsewhere on the internet. Both of these items, being for a 6’1″ tall man are quite large and seem to be taking me forever. I’ve completely lost count of the number of increases I have had to do on the sweater.

Now, I am very happy to be adding some very different thingies to my knitting queue. Some much smaller things.
Things such as these:

Tiny Shoes by Ysolda Teague

Elijah and Sophie also by Ysolda Teague

Aviatrix by Justine Turner
This adorable one (and baby) made by RogueSheep

Ā© FrenchPressKnits

And a cute teddy bear by Debbie Bliss

Are you seeing a theme here?

O.K. I’m sure you get it but just in case,

Meet my newest distraction:

9 weeks, 4 days

We were still up to our necks in boxes, unpacking bubble wrap and we had only been in our new home for 6 days before we received this wonderful news!Ā  That puts me at beginning of my second trimester on Thursday. Due date at the moment is April 14th.

So yes, I am totally going to use this as my excuse for being more absent lately but on the bright side, this is bringing numerous crafty pretty thingies to light that need to be made which will, of course, be documented here.

September 26, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Knitting, Me and Mine.

9 Comments

  1. Randi replied:

    OMIGOSH!! CONGRATULATIONS! You and RPK will be great parents!! So, so exciting to read this news as Nate and I anxiously await the arrival of our new baby niece. yay!yay!yay!

  2. funksteena replied:

    Congratulations!!!!! ā¤

  3. barncat1 replied:

    Congratulations again! I see lots of knitting in your future, a perfect thing for a long, cold Wisconsin winter. šŸ™‚

  4. bookwormbethie replied:

    congrats again! thanks for sharing the ultra sound pic! i can’t wait to see all the cute little things you knit up! i know you have those 2 knitted WIPs for your hubby, but is it too hard to resist to knit up a wee little gender neutral something?!?!?! i ā™„ that elephant!

  5. giddy99 replied:

    That is such wonderful and awesome news! Congratulations! šŸ™‚

  6. Modern Ma'am replied:

    Thank you so much everyone! So sweet of you all.
    I can hardly wait to get started. I think the Ysolda’s bunny, Sophie will have to be baby project number one.

  7. glenn replied:

    Congratulations!

  8. Kat replied:

    Wow. How awesome. And what a great, craft-bloggy way to tell your fans. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

